Essential Software for Windows

September 23, 2006

You know the old routine – You get a new machine and then you spend weeks looking for and installing all the applications, tools, utilities, etc that you had on your old computer that made you so productive. There is always that utility that you use once in a while but you just can’t seem to find it.

I recently bought a new computer and decided to make a list of all the software I installed on the new computer so that I’m ready to do this again for my next machine. I wish I had discovered Belarc Advisor before I rebuilt my old desktop as a Linux (Ubuntu) desktop. So here is a fairly complete list of what’s installed on my machine and if you see something that I should have, please leave me a comment:

The Essentails

Development

Audio, Video & Graphics

Browsers & Extensions

Utilities

3 Responses to “Essential Software for Windows”

  1. bk said

    Servant Salamander (shareware) and Lanchy (freeware) are musts for me.

  2. Hi there and thanks. Servant Salamander looks interesting but Launchy looks pretty useful. I’ll download and give it a shot. Thanks.

  3. […] Essential Software for Windows You know the old routine – You get a new machine and then you spend weeks looking for and installing all the applications, tools, utilities, etc that you had on your old computer that made you so productive. So here is a fairly complete list of what’s ins (tags: development eclipse essential google intellij java microsoft mysql nero software Tech WebLogic windows) Tags:Bookmark this page at:These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages. […]

Leave a Reply

