I hate Roxio and Nero!

January 28, 2006

I have had it – I cannot tell you how frustrating it is to burn a simple f***ing DVD on my computer. Roxio and Nero and all the other DVD burning software that I have tried for Windows just suck and I’ve burnt more coasters than.. Ok. Can’t think of a smart or funny analogy here but I’ve burnt a lot of coasters.

Since we’ve had our daughter, my wife and I have been putting our digital camcorder to good use. I typically capture the movies to my computer before burning them onto a DVD with titles, transitions, pictures and music. I typically use Roxio to burn my DVD and the results are usually hit or miss. After installation, Roxio works fine for a few days or weeks and then just starts burning coasters. So I’ll download Nero and try that and that may work fine for a few weeks before it goes into coaster mode. Usually a simple uninstall and a reinstall fixes the problem with Roxio but that is such a hassle. There are times when that doesn’t work and the typical answer from Roxio support is to rebuild my machine. F*** you – Fix your software so that it works and doesn’t require me to rebuild my machine. In Roxio’s defense, I install any piece of software I can find that seems interesting. I do download a lot of software from any development tool, add-on to utility programs and I must be clobbering something but this is just garbage. Why can’t a program protect its own DLL’s or registry settings or whatever is breaking this

My burner machine configuration is a DELL Pentium 4 (ancient) 2 GHz machine with 1 GB of RAM, Windows XP SP2 and an external USB 2.0 Plextor PX-708UF DVD burner. I own Roxio v7.0 and don’t want to upgrade to v8.0 as I may be facing the same issues. This is enough of a hassle to make me want to buy a MAC. Now that Macs are running a real processor with some performance, it might be worth checking out one of those shiny new MacBook Pros. And if I can run OS X and Vista on the same laptop, that’s a pretty good deal. If only Apple made a Tablet!

Is there any other software out there that will let me burn a DVD without these hassles? There has to be an alternative to this nightmare scenario. If you have a solution that’s working for me, please drop me a line or comment below.

Roxio, Nero, Windows+xp, dvd, software, mac, osx, macbook

7 Responses to “I hate Roxio and Nero!”

  1. Alan said

    While I share your apparent hatred of anything Roxio with a passion, I’ve had nothing but great success with Nero.

    Maybe ensure your system is free of spyware, viruses, etc., and that it has the latest updates to Windows, drivers, motherboard, and BIOS. If these aren’t current you may be experiencing problems which aren’t the direct result of some fault with Nero.

    Nero rules in my book.

  2. alphred said

    this used to happen to me all the time, i saw a whole bunch of registry tweaks and add-on but none seemed to work for me, what finally worked was when i upgraded my dvd burner to the lastest firmware, to know what dvd burner u have go to MyComputer right click on your burner and choose “properties” and click on the “Hardware” tab there should be a list find the full lenght name of your burner and do a search of firmwares for it on google and that should solve the problem hopefully. siralphred[at]gmail.com

  3. Hi Alan. I’ve only had 1 issue with Nero 6.x that I got as part of my DVD bundle. My machine is free of spyware unless AdAware, Spyboy and MS Spyware are lying to me and I’ve also upgraded the firmware on my Plextor DVD burner. The weird thing is that Roxio works if I uninstall and reinstall – usually. šŸ™‚ I hate Roxio!

    I got a couple of emails from people recommending Nero 7.0 and so I am downloading the latest trial version.

  4. I use Ulead Software (came bundled with my Pioneer DVD Writer) and have had very few problems after burning about 25-30 DVDs over the last year. I am very satisfied with the various options provided by Ulead. After installing all the latest patches, I have not seen any issues.

    You might be surprised that I am using a really old 833 Mhz Dell machine (with 768 MB RAM) and a 20 GB HDD to do yhis job…! (I did not want to install this software on my primary work PC and so used my backup machine). I must admit that it takes way too long to burn a DVD on this machine…! šŸ™‚

  5. mark said

    have you ever tried getting support from roxio? it’s almost impossible.
    they put you through an endless array of self help pages (which you have to have a password for) and, like every other self help program today, it never seems to ansewer the question you have. all i would like is for them to have is a simple and easily locatable email address that you can contact tech support with about the question you have.

    they do have a support telephone line that they want to charge a person $30.00 per hour for (assholes).

  6. Darren Wood said

    Everytime I have tried to download the Nero trial version, I get the full version which requires a registration code. Fuck Nero. I keep waiting 10 minutes to download it, get stuck, delete it, and try a different site. Get stuck and repeat. Fuck Nero in the ass. I’ll give Roxio a try.

  7. ShamusDaniel said

    I’ve noticed that Nero and Roxio don’t work well after updating Windows XP. I managed to remedy
    this by clicking Start, Program Files, Accessories and Program Capatibility Wizard. I then followed the
    wizard and set the Roxio and Nero back to Windows 2000. That seemed to have fixed my
    Nero and Roxio problems. Otherwise nero support is worthless.

Leave a Reply

