No Vongo for me

January 5, 2006

Vongo is basically a video download service that provides movies on demand to personal computers and portable media devices. Vongo Membership allows members access to their movie library but any of the recent movies are considered pay-per-view and not accessible under your membership. So I sign up for the standard $9.99 plan that’s supposed to allow me to view, download any movie and 3 of the movies I searched for at random were pay-per-view – i.e. no free viewing. To view those movies, you pay $3.95. The free movies that you can download ‘expire’ after a finite (3-months?) amount of time and so you can’t keep them forever – You are licensing the movie not really purchasing them and that’s fine

So I download Vongo to see what it’s all about – Sign up, log in and start downloading movies. Every time I try to download a movie, it schedules the download for another time instead of downloading right away. After I got past that, I decided to try out the live Starz stream while I wait for the movie to download and I get the following lovely error message:

Vongo Error

That was it for me – I uninstalled the application and cancelled my membership. I hate companies that make you call and talk to someone about cancelling your membership. The web is good enough when you want to take my money but not good enough when I want a refund. The person on the phone was very polite and pleasant and I got my refund right away. And the final straw was the uninstaller – I try to uninstall the application and it dies as some file is locked because the player is still running in my task tray. Why is the uninstaller not smart enough to detect any running instances that would have to be killed before it can proceed? I guess I’ll wait for the Google Video announcement tomorrow at CES to see if their application is any better. As much as iTunes sucks, it still is a pretty decent platform for music and video.

4 Responses to “No Vongo for me”

  1. Jennifer said

    Well I’ve tried Vongo i had the same problem, however i went on thier chat and they were very helpful, fixed the problem within minutes, i believe a little patients would have been required.

  2. Hi,

    Did you have any trouble removing Vongo?

    I’m a one-person IT department for a group of physicians. We got some new HP laptops and I as part of my normal set-up tasks I tried to uninstall Vongo – as local admin. Apparently it was/is part of the install image on these laptops.

    First I uninstalled via /control panel/ Add Remove software, but when I rebooted a script tried to install via msinstaller but the C:/Progam Files/Vongo folder and files were gone so of course it could not really complete.

    I removed all the links from \Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\Startup and C:\Documents and Settings\Defaultl User\Start Menu\Programs\Startup, and C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Start Menu\Programs\Startup

    In group policy editor I checked for startup scripts under C:\WINDOWS\System32\GroupPolicy\User\Scripts\Logon and C:\WINDOWS\System32\GroupPolicy\Machine\Scripts\Startup – found none.

    I checked the registry for RunOnce entries and found none.

    …and yet when I log in I still have a script that tries to run an install of Vongo! Really annoying. I cannot figure out where this is coming from. Any helpful ideas would be appreciated. Next time I have a chance to work on these machines I’m going to hav e to call HP I think.

    Thanks,

    Matt Powell
    mpowell – at – cellnetix.com
    (www.cellnetix.com)

  3. me said

    Hi, had the same problem Matt with the HP uninstall. found this Run item in the startup that causes the Vongo Setup on reboot. Delete the following from the registry key:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    “C:\Program Files\Common Files\InstallShield\UpdateService\isuspm.exe” -startup

    For some reason this tries to reinstall the Vongo. I am renaming mine to make sure nothing else quits working.

    Thanks,

  4. Matt said

    Thanks ‘me’,

    I will give that a try and see how it goes. I’ll update the list here with my results.

    Thanks again for the input.

    – Matt Powell

Leave a Reply

