Pragmatic Version Control

August 1, 2003

Boy am I am tired this morning. Stayed up way past my bedtime reading the draft of Dave Thomas and Andy Hunt’s new book called ‘Pragmatic Version Control’. In fact, I overslept and missed the Spider’s Geek book club this morning.

Back to Pragmatic Version Control – I met Dave at the local No-fluff-just-stuff Java symposium and he talked about the new books they he and Andy were working on. Having no life, I offered up my services to review the new book. (This is a confidential draft and so please don’t me email asking for a copy. 🙂 Thank you). I’ve read the book cover-to-cover twice already in the last week and I am really impressed with this book. I dont want to give anything away as I havent seen anything official on the book at the Pragmatic site yet. This book is aimed at programmers who are new to version control and has a great tutorial on CVS, which was really helpful as I’m relatively new to CVS. Years of PVCS, Clear Case and Visual Source Safe has taken its toll 🙂 Looking forward to the final release of the book.

On a related topic, I download SmartCVS last week after I read someone blogging about it and it is a really impressive tool. In minutes, I had the entire Jakarta commons CVS archive downloaded on my PC. Great interface and the usability is just great.

Leave a Reply

